The NSET Subcommittee

The Nanoscale Science, Engineering, and Technology (NSET) Subcommittee coordinates planning, budgeting, program implementation, and review of the NNI. The NSET Subcommittee, which is composed of representatives from the 20 Federal departments and independent agencies, is a Subcommittee of the National Science and Technology Council's (NSTC), Committee on Technology, under the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. The Subcommittee has established two Working Groups to support key NNI activities that will benefit from focused interagency attention. To learn more about this organizational and reporting structure, see Coordination of the NNI.

Members of the NSET Subcommittee

NSET Subcommittee Co-Chairs
Lori Henderson, NIH
Lloyd Whitman, OSTP

NSET Subcommittee Executive Secretary
Stacey Standridge, NNCO

NNCO Director
Lisa Friedersdorf

NNCO Deputy Director

Department and Agency Representatives

Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)
Lloyd Whitman
Altaf Carim

Office of Management and Budget (OMB)
Danielle Jones
James Kim
Celinda Marsh

Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)
Treye A. Thomas

Department of Commerce (DOC)
    Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)

    Kelly Gardner

    Economic Development Administration (EDA)
    Thomas Guevara

    National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
    Heather Evans
    Ajit Jillavenkatesa
    Debra L. Kaiser

    U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
    Gladys Corcoran
    Jesus Hernandez
    Jerry Lorengo
    Peter Mehravari

Department of Defense (DOD)
John Beatty
Jeffrey DePriest
Eric W. Forsythe
Mark H. Griep
Akbar Khan
Antti Makinen 
Heather Meeks
Brian D. Pate
Gernot S. Pomrenke
David M. Stepp

Department of Education (DOEd)
Russell D. Shilling

Department of Energy (DOE)
David R. Forrest
Harriet Kung
George Maracas
Andrew R. Schwartz

Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)
    Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)

    Deborah Burgin
    Candis M. Hunter
    Custodio Muianga

    Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
    Anil Patri

    National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH/CDC)
    Charles L. Geraci
    Vladimir V. Murashov

    National Institutes of Health (NIH)
    Piotr Grodzinski
    Lori Henderson

Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
Kumar Babu

Department of the Interior (DOI)
    U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)

    Patricia Bright
    Michael Focazio
    Jeffery Steevens

Department of Justice (DOJ)
    National Institutes of Justice (NIJ)

    Joseph Heaps




Department of Labor (DOL)
    Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

    Janet Carter

Department of State (DOS)
Christopher Cannizzaro
Ken Hodgkins

Department of Transportation (DOT)
Peter Chipman
Jonathan R. Porter

Department of the Treasury (DOTreas)
John F. Bobalek

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Elaine Cohen Hubal
Jeff Morris

Intelligence Community (IC)
  National Reconnaissance Office (NRO)
    Matthew Cobert

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Azlin M. Biaggi-Labiosa
Lanetra C. Tate

National Science Foundation (NSF)
Khershed Cooper
Fred Kronz
Lynnette Madsen
Mihail C. Roco
Nora Savage

Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
Brian Thomas

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
    Agriculture Research Service (ARS)
    James Lindsay   

    Forest Service (FS)
    World L.S. Nieh
    Theodore H. Wegner

    National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA)
    Hongda Chen

U.S. International Trade Commission (USITC)
Elizabeth R. Nesbitt*




*denotes nonvoting member