Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

The NSET Subcommittee

The Nanoscale Science, Engineering, and Technology (NSET) Subcommittee coordinates planning, budgeting, program implementation, and review of the NNI. The NSET Subcommittee, which is composed of representatives from the 20 Federal departments and independent agencies, is a Subcommittee of the National Science and Technology Council's (NSTC), Committee on Technology, under the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. The Subcommittee has established a Working Group and Coordinators to support key NNI activities that will benefit from focused interagency attention. To learn more about this organizational and reporting structure, see Coordination of the NNI.

Members of the NSET Subcommittee

NSET Subcommittee Co-Chairs
Lisa Friedersdorf, OSTP
Antti Makinen, DOD
Andrew Schwartz, DOE

NSET Subcommittee Executive Secretary
Geoff Holdridge, NNCO

NNCO Director
Lisa Friedersdorf

NNCO Deputy Director
Stacey Standridge

Department and Agency Representatives 

The NSET Subcommittee is composed of representatives from 20 Federal departments and independent agencies.

Working Group

The NSET Subcommittee has chartered the Nanotechnology Environmental and Health Implications (NEHI) Working Group to improve the effectiveness and productivity of the Subcommittee and its participating agencies in addressing the environment, health, and safety (EHS) of nanotechnology. The NEHI Working Group provides a forum for focused interagency collaborations on the environmental, health, and safety implications of nanotechnology, as well as leadership in establishing the national nanotechnology EHS research agenda. The NEHI Working Group also communicates nanotechnology EHS information among NNI agencies and to the public.


The NNI designates coordinators in cross-cutting topical areas to track developments, lead in organizing activities, report periodically to the NSET Subcommittee, and serve as central points of contact for NNI information in the corresponding areas. These coordinators work with NNI agencies to identify priorities and emerging opportunities and to strengthen interagency coordination on these critical topics.

These positions currently include: 

  • Coordinator for Environmental, Health, and Safety Research: Treye Thomas (Consumer Product Safety Commission)
  • Coordinator for Global Issues: Stacey Standridge (National Nanotechnology Coordination Office)