APRA-E Advance Research Project Agency-Energy

ARO Army Research Office (DOD)

ARS Agricultural Research Service

BIS Bureau of Industry and Security (DOC)

CPSC Consumer Product Safety Commission

DARPA Defense Advance Research Projects Agency

DTRA Defense Threat Reduction Agency

DHS Department of Homeland Security

DOC Department of Commerce

DOEd Department of Education

DOD Department of Defense

DOE Department of Energy

DOJ Department of Justice

DOL Department of Labor

DOS Department of State

DOT Department of Transportation

DOTreas Department of the Treasury

EDA Economic Development Administration

EOP Executive Office of the President

EPA Environmental Protection Agency

FAQs Frequently Asked Questions

FDA Food and Drug Administration (HHS)

FS Forest Service

HHS Department of Health and Human Services

IC Intelligence Community

ISO International Organization for Standardization

ITC International Trade Commission (see also USITC)

MRSEC Materials Research Science and Engineering Center

NASA National Aeronautics and Space Administration

NCI National Cancer Institute (HHS/NIH)

NHLBI National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (HHS/NIH)

NIEHS National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (HHS/NIH)

NIFA National Institute of Food and Agriculture (USDA)

NIH National Institutes of Health (HHS)

NIOSH National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

NIST National Institute of Standards and Technology (DOC)

NNCO National Nanotechnology Coordination Office

NNI National Nanotechnology Initiative

NRC Nuclear Regulatory Commission

NSET Nanoscale Science, Engineering, and Technology Subcommittee (of the NSTC)

NSF National Science Foundation

NSRC Nanoscale Science Research Center

NSTC National Science and Technology Council

NTP National Toxicology Program (HHS)

ODNI Director of National Intelligence

OMB Office of Management and Budget (Executive Office of the President)

OSTP Office of Science and Technology Policy (Executive Office of the President)

PCA Program Component Area

PCAST President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology

RSL Regional, State, and Local (Initiatives in Nanotechnology)

R&D Research and Development

SBA Small Business Administration

SBIR Small Business Innovation Research

STTR Small Business Technology Transfer

TA Technology Administration (DOC)

TSA Transportation Security Administration

USDA U.S. Department of Agriculture

USITC United States International Trade Commission

USPTO U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (DOC)