Eddie Chang, NSF

Eddie Chang worked for over 30 years at the Naval Research Laboratory in the Center for Bio/Molecular Science and Engineering. He is currently the program director for Interfacial Processes and Thermodynamics in the Division of Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental, and Transport Systems (CBET) in the ENG Directorate at NSF. He had also served as acting program director for both the Nano-Biosensing and EHS Nano programs in CBET.


National Science Foundation

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" With an annual budget of $7.2 billion (FY 2014), NSF is the funding source for approximately 24 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.

NSF's task of identifying and funding work at the frontiers of science and engineering is a "bottom up" approach, maintaining constant contact with the research community to identify ever-moving horizons of inquiry, monitoring which areas are most likely to result in spectacular progress, and choosing the most promising people to conduct the research. There are many programs and initiatives across the NSF that fund all fundamental aspects of nanotechnology and sensors research and development. This is particularly true for the Engineering Directorate and for the Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental, and the Transport Systems (CBET) Division, which has 3 programs with major focus on nano-related sensing. In addition, the SBIR/STTR program in the Industrial Innovation and Partnerships (IIP) Division also supports nanotechnology and sensing.

Specific information about these programs and the contacts are given below:

Biophotonics (PD 14-7236): Program Director, Leon Esterowitz, lesterow@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7942


Nano-Biosensing (PD 14-7909): Program Director, Rajakkannu  Mutharasan, rmuthara@nsf.gov, (703) 292-4608


Environmental Health and Safety of Nanotechnology (PD 14-1179): Program Director, Nora Savage, nosavage@nsf.gov, (703) 292-7949


Small Business Innovation Research/Small Business Technology Transfer (SBIR/STTR) (NSF 14-603, etc): Program Directors, Ruth Shuman, rshuman@nsf.gov, (703) 292-2160, and others


(Updated Sept. 2014)